Australian Sunflower Association

Formed in 1976, the objectives of the Australian Sunflower Association are to:

  • Promote the Australian Sunflower Industry
  • Assist in organising seminars and workshops
  • Foster sunflower research and extension
  • Coordinate and work with other similar industry associations, both domestically and internationally.

The Australian Sunflower Association acts as a voice for all sectors of the industry and assists growers to capitalise on new developments and opportunities. The ASA aims to develop grower confidence in all sunflower types through high yields and sunflowers' contribution to more profitable farming systems.

Key activities and publications undertaken and supported by the ASA include:

Membership of the ASA consists of growers, researchers and personnel from all facets of the industry. These include the seed industry, crushing, refining, manufacturing, merchandising organisations and private agronomic advisers.

ASA Committee (correct April 2016)

Kevin CharlesworthChair – Australian Sunflower Association; Grower, Clifton
Belinda ChaseSenior Agronomist, Dalby Rural Supplies, Dalby
Nick GoddardExecutive Director, Australian Oilseeds Federation, Sydney
Chris HaireProgram Manager, Summer Crops, NuSeed
Roland HornickGrower, Orion Via Springsure 
Tony LockreyConsulting Agronomist, AMPs Moree
Tony McCumstieTerritory Manager – Liverpool Plains & Hunter Valley, Advanta Seeds
Paul McIntoshAgronomist, Northern Region Manager, Pulse Australia 
Krissy CampbellSpecialty Business Manager, AWB
Loretta SerafinLeader Northern Dryland Cropping Systems
Sue ThompsonResearch Fellow (Plant Pathology), University of Southern Queensland

To contact the Australian Sunflower Association, email

ASA Committee Members - 2014

Left to Right: ASA Committee members Paul McIntosh, Maree Crawford, Loretta Serafin, Chris Haire, Kevin Charlesworth, Sue Thompson, Liz Alexander, Tony Lockery launch the Australian Sunflower Industry Strategic Plan with the Queensland Minister for Agriculture, Hon. John McVeigh MP